Recognition of Excellence in Fine Chocolate

By FCIA | 2019 | Recognition of Excellence

The Fine Chocolate Industry Association (FCIA) is proud to host the Recognition of Excellence awards to recognize outstanding fine chocolate industry professionals and companies for their significant contributions to our segment of the industry. In hosting these awards, we aim to encourage fine chocolate professionals world-wide to explore their passion and innovate, set trends, and raise the overall quality of our industry.

These biannual awards are chosen by industry peers to recognize notable achievement and contributions to the fine chocolate industry. Anyone can make a nomination, and anyone in the industry can be nominated and can win. However, only FCIA members can vote.

Congratulations to the winners of our Recognition of Excellence awards! Each has made a significant positive impact to our industry and their contribution has been recognized by their peers.

2019 Award Recipients

Outstanding Service to the Industry

  • Hector Jose Rizek, Rizek Cacao

Outstanding Contribution by a Fine Chocolatier

  • Christopher Elbow, Christopher Elbow Chocolates

Outstanding Contribution by a Fine Chocolate Maker/Manufacturer

  • Maria Fernanda Di Giacobbe, Chef, Entrepreneur, Artist, Chocolatier

Outstanding Contribution in Communications

  • Clay Gordon, TheChocolateLife

Lifetime Achievement

  • Franceschi Family, Casa Franceschi 


Award Recipients

Outstanding Service to the Industry 

  • Chantal Coady, Rococo Chocolates
  • Elaine Gonzales
  • John Kehoe, Guittard Chocolate 
  • Carla Martin, PhD, Fine Cacao and Chocolate Institute
  • Matthew Stevens, Dessert Professional
  • Mary Jo Stojak
  • Pam Williams, Ecole Chocolat

Outstanding Contribution by a Fine Chocolatier

  • Fran Bigelow, Fran's Chocolates
  • Robert Linxe, La Maison du Chocolat
  • Michael Recchiuti, Recchiuti Confections 
  • Sibu Chocolate (accepted by Julio Fernandez Amon)

Outstanding Contribution by a Fine Chocolate Maker/Manufacturer

  • Michel Cluizel, Michel Cluizel Chocolate
  • Steve De Vries, Maranon Chocolate 
  • Greg D‘Alesandre, Dandelion Chocolate
  • Santiago Peralta, Pacari Chocolate
  • Art Pollard, Amano Chocolate
  • Valrhona
  • Alex Whitmore, Taza Chocolate

Outstanding Contribution at Origin in Sustainability of Fine Chocolate

  • Brian Horsley, Marañon Chocolate
  • Emily Stone, Uncommon Cacao

Innovation in Fine Chocolate Products

  • Andal Balu, Cocoatown
  • Dr. Robert Steinberg

Outstanding Fine Chocolate Literature

  • Alexander Morozoff 

Innovation in Fine Chocolate Product Presentation

  • Norman Love 

Lifetime Achievement

  • Larry Burdick, L.A. Burdick Chocolates
  • Gary Guittard, Guittard Chocolate
  • John Nanci, Chocolate Alchemy
  • Jacquy Pfeiffer, The French Pastry School
  • John Scharffenberger, Scharffen Berger Chocolate
  • Ed Seguine, Seguine Cacao, Cocoa & Chocolate Advisors
  • Mott Green, Grenada Chocolate (posthumously awarded; accepted by Mott‘s Mother, Dr. Judith Friedman)

To Read Source Article -